I want to read the Jo Nesbo books in order. Where do I start?

The chronological order of the novels available in English is: The Bat, Cockroaches, The Redbreast, Nemesis, The Devil's Star, The Redeemer, The Snowman, The Leopard, Phantom, Police. But you can of course start anywhere. Headhunters is a stand-alone novel.

What is the Oslo Sequence?

The Redbreast, Nemesis, The Devil's Star, The Redeemer, The Snowman, The Leopard, Phantom and Police make up the Oslo Sequence. The Bat and Cockroaches are the early Harry Hole cases.

Does Jo ever visit the UK?

Jo leads a very busy life, but he does come to see us every so often. You can sign up to our newsletter for more information on his visits. You can also check this site for details of upcoming events.

Where can I buy the Harry Hole books and ebooks?

You can buy them at all good bookshops and online retailers.

Where can I buy audio books of the Harry Hole books?

You can buy audio downloads of the Harry Hole books from all good online audio retailers.

How do you pronounce Jo's name?

Jo is pronounced like 'you', and Jo says the 'o' in Nesbo is similar to the vowel in Inspector Clouseau's pronunciation of the word 'bomb'.

How can I contact Jo?

You can send him an email via his agent to fanmail@salomonssonagency.com. But due to the volume of fan mail he can't reply to everything he is sent. If you'd like to review your favourite Jo Nesbo title, please visit the Vintage Books website

Who publishes the Harry Hole novels?

In the UK, Jo is published in hardback by Harvill Secker and in paperback by Vintage Books. You can contact both of them here. You can also sign up to the Vintage Newsletter for more news on great books.

I've heard that Jo Nesbo has written books for children. Who publishes those?

They are published by Simon & Schuster, and you can find out more here.

I love Jo Nesbo's novels. Which other authors might I enjoy?

Please visit the links page for more information on our other Vintage Scandi-crime authors.